Sydney Marathon Diaries

Marathon Prep Restart

Technically, this isn’t the intro since I posted one of these about a month ago, but marathon prep got off to a bad start with a horrible flu derailing it before it began. So here is take 2.

Who Am I?

Just an average guy really, and that's why I think following the journey of an average family man’s training plan might be more relatable than watching a pro runner hit sub 2:20 marathons. I'm a 32-year-old father of two and a wife with a full-time job, trying to juggle work, life, and training. Recently, I started a passion project called Zato Athletic Club, which is currently a newsletter on running culture with bigger ambitions.

My Running Stats

  • 5km: 22:14

  • 10km: 45:43

  • Half Marathon: 1:42:16

  • Goal Marathon Time: Sub 3:30

I started running last year to get fit after a long break from the gym during and post-COVID lockdowns. Since then, I've run Couch to 5k, Jack Daniels Base Building Plans, and hired a running coach.

Training Plan

For this training block, I'm going back to Jack Daniels' training methodology, specifically the 2Q Training Block. I chose this because it offers a structured, science-based approach that suits my goals and schedule. Here’s the weekly template:

  • Midweek Long Run: 15-24km (9-15 miles) of Repetition to Threshold Paces

  • Weekend Long Run: 20-30km (12.5-18.5 miles) of Threshold to Marathon Paces

  • Remaining volume: Completed doing Easy Pace runs over the number of days running

It uses 5 different paces based on recent race times using the VDOT Calculator:

  • Easy: Builds aerobic base

  • Marathon: Race pace accustomisation

  • Threshold: Increases lactate threshold (approx. 10km pace)

  • Interval: Increases Vo2Max (approx. 5km pace)

  • Repetition: Improves running economy and speed (approx. Mile pace)

Simple, right? Now, let’s jump into the week and explain it a bit more.

Weekly Breakdown

Sunday: Long Run

  • 3.2km (2 miles) @ 5:45 min/km (9:15 min/mile) - Easy Pace

  • 12.87km (8miles) @ 4:55 min/km (7:55 min/mile)- Marathon Pace

  • 1.6km (1 mile) @ 5:45 min/km (9:15 min/mile) - Easy Pace

  • 3.2km (2 miles) @ 4:55 min/km (7:55 min/mile) - Marathon Pace

  • 3.2km (2 miles) @ 5:45 min/km (9:15 min/mile) - Easy Pace

  • Avg HR: 179 BPM

Week starts with the Sunday Long Run. This was a slog in the pouring rain. Normally, I would ditch this or reschedule, but since my last race was in the rain, I thought it was better to hit it. Plus, some training partners were up for it, which made it easier. This is the first real marathon pace session of the training block, and I felt it. HR is higher than expected, likely due to flu recovery.

Monday: Easy Run

  • 6.25km (3.88 miles) @ 6:00 min/km (9:40 min/mile) - Easy Pace

  • Avg HR: 141 BPM

Treadmill run. HR is starting to look normal again.

Tuesday: Easy Run

  • 6.25km (3.88 miles) @ 5:45 min/km - Easy Pace

  • Avg HR: 159 BPM & 157 BPM

Split into 2 runs since I had to drop my car off for service. No idea why my HR was so high; maybe it was quite windy that day.

Wednesday: Easy Run

  • 6.25km (3.88 miles) @ 6:00 min/km (9:40 min/mile) - Easy Pace

  • Avg HR: 146 BPM

Treadmill run at 10:30pm. Never fun but as a Dad you need to run whenever you have a chance.

Thursday: Track Day

  • 40 mins @ 5:45 min/km (9:15 min/mile) - Easy Pace

  • 4 sets of:

    • 1.6km (1 Mile) @ 4:35 min/km (7:22 min/mile) - Threshold Pace

    • 1 min rest

  • 3.2km (2 Miles) @ 5:45 min/km (Actual 1.6km)(1 Mile)

  • Avg HR: 174 BPM

Every second Thursday is track day and something I look forward to every fortnight. Nothing better than running under the lights with other hobby joggers. Lately the weather on workout days has been abysmal and this was no different. The cool down even just shut down early due to lightning and thunder.

Really considering purchasing one of the Coros HR monitors because it feels like the watch HR reading is so far off feel. Based on my strava it is saying I was in Zone 3 for all of my easy run which was very much conversational and usually be in 130/140s.

Friday: Easy Run

  • 6.25km (3.88 miles) @ 5:26 min/km (8:45 min/mile) - Easy Pace

  • Avg HR 168 BPM

Put some headphones in and listened to a DJ set as a result the pace accidentally was a bit faster than had been planned.

Saturday: Easy Run

  • 6.25km (3.88 miles) @ 6:00 min/km (9:40 min/mile) - Easy Pace

  • Avg HR 157 BPM

Total Weekly Volume: 70.5km (44miles)

This will be the standard structure of this newsletter. I'll also cover race strategies, reports for B goal races, shoe rotations, nutrition, life scheduling, and anything else that comes to mind. If you have any questions or topics you'd like me to cover, drop a comment or send me a message. Follow along on Strava and follow the journey!