Sydney Marathon Diaries

5km Time Trial

Back with another training week. Less than 13 weeks left till the big dance. This week the program got changed around a bit to jump into the local track clubs 5km TT. Honestly, I am normally a stickler with following a training plan but who can resist a track TT? Came away with a 2-minute PB, but I will get to that later.

Look away or scroll down if you are not a data nerd like me because we are about to do a deep dive into how I use a website called Runalyze in conjunction with my training program to calculate my VDOT paces mentioned in the first diary entry.

Runalyze just scrapes data from my Strava account and calculates an effective VO2Max. It does this by using existing data like race times, resting heart rate, and previous volume and intensity of workouts alongside the HR and distance of training sessions. As a result, the effective VO2Max is dynamic and updates with each and every training session.

From the VO2Max, it calculates the corresponding VDOT calculations that are required to calculate paces for the Jack Daniels 2Q Marathon program that I am currently following. Hence why I purchased the Coros HRM last week to make sure the HR readings were right.

On top of that, Runalyze shows the workload ratio to ensure that you don’t overtrain and increase the risk of the dreaded injury. Highly recommend it if you enjoy data and want to dive deeper into your progress running and if you are trending in the right direction. There is so much that I didn’t go into because the amount Runalyze does is immense and too much for a training diary.

Weekly Breakdown

Sunday: Long Run

  • 2hrs (21.3km / 13.2 miles) @ 5:47min/km (9:19 min/mile)

  • Avg HR: 159 BPM

Every 3rd week is just an easy-paced long run to allow the body to recuperate but still accumulate volume. Since Sydney is going to be 300m+ in elevation, I am using these “down” weeks to try and accumulate elevation in the legs so I don’t get a rude shock on the day. Nothing crazy but a nice 177m elevation gain for the day.

Monday: Easy Run

  • 7.11km (4.4 miles) @ 5:47 min/km (9:19 min/mile)

  • Avg HR: 139 & 151 BPM

Mini double session today. Car was in at the mechanic and ran to the playground to hang out with the family after work. Doubled after to get the daily miles in.

Tuesday: Easy Run

  • 7km (4.35 miles) @ 5:45 min/km (9:15 min/mile)

  • Avg HR: 147 BPM

The weather is really starting to get cold and I felt it tonight. Might be time to invest in some cold-weather gear because my cotton hoody was getting way too sweaty but was frozen when taken off.

Wednesday: Treadmill Run

  • 5km (3.1 miles) @ 6:00 min/km (9:39 min/mile)

  • Avg HR 141 BPM

Woke up with a bit of a head cold this morning and honestly, it is getting frustrating this current flu season. Already the 3rd time this winter and it is only June. Planning to run through unless it hits the chest because if I stop every sniffle I may not run all winter.

Adidas Adizero SL2 arrived today and gave them a little test run on the treadmill. Double package day with Creatine and Beta Alanine arriving; check out my latest newsletter for why I have purchased these for running

Thursday: Track Day

  • 2.4km (1.5 miles) Warmup

  • 5km (3.1 miles) @ 4:13min/km (6:48 min/mile) - 21:05

  • 1.2km (0.75 miles) Cooldown

This is completely off program but honestly, a 5km Track TT doesn’t come up very often so I jumped at the opportunity for a test of fitness and hopefully a new PB. Still have a lingering head cold and some calf DOMS from the new shoes I think, but decided to push through.

Super glad I did because I came away with a 2-minute PB of 21:05 and honestly felt like I had more in the tank when I finished. Once the Marathon block is finished, I am going to jump into the Single Threshold Norwegian Adaptation and aim for the coveted sub-20 before the end of the year.

Super pumped but lots more training still to go.

Friday : Treadmill Run

  • 7km (4.35 miles) @ 5:45min/km (9:15 min/mile)

  • Avg HR 145 BPM

Treadmill paces have been bumped up for easy runs after an adjustment of paces due to the 5km PB the night before.

Saturday: Treadmill Run

  • 7km (4.35 miles) @ 6:15min/km

  • Avg HR 141 BPM

I like to do my Saturday runs as early as possible due to the Sunday Long Run the next day, but sometimes life just gets in the way. As a result, knowing there is going to be a punishing Marathon Pace session tomorrow and not starting till 7:30 pm, I really dropped the pace on the treadmill.

Total Weekly Volume: 63km

Much lower volume than anticipated but still happy with time constraints this week and a 5km PB that training is well on track and ready to hit the ground running again next week.